Don’t give me a link. Give me an explanation!


Try to understand what a ‘ hedge fund’ is, using Wikipedia in German. You will get an article introduction with a lot of unknown terms, and the article itself isn’t much better.  Of course, the terms are linked. But in order to understand what a ‘hedge fund’ may be you have to read three, four other articles.

It’s an old misunderstanding of internet savy people that a link facilitates understanding. In fact the link is an easy way-out for the writer. He believes that it is not necessary to explain the term. It is a huge burden for the reader who gets an incomplete text.

2 thoughts on “Don’t give me a link. Give me an explanation!

    1. Hello, thank you for mentioning that; I put a remark on Planet Wikimedia talk page. It seems to relate to a bug.

Leave a comment